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What is Quality Score and How Google Calculates Ad rank Calculation and Actual CPC – 2020


Quality Score,Ad Rank-and-Actual-CPC

What is Quality Score and How Google Calculates Ad rank Calculation and Actual CPC – 2020

Ad rank: (scale 1-7)

  • It is a Position of Ad
  • It depends on CPC

Ex:
Person
CPC
Impression
Clicks
CTR
A
80
100
100
100%
B
60
100
0
0%

  • If Person ‘B’ clicks A’s Ad 100 times then his Budget exhausted. There is a chance for B to go to the top.
  • Google allows one click by one IP
  • If B’s click A’s Ad by 100 different IP means his/her amount exhausted. So Google will check another a parameter called Quality score

Click through Rate: (Scale 1-100)

          CTR = Clicks / Impression x 100

Quality Score: (scale 1-10)

  • It is a score given by Google.
  • It depends upon three Parameters

          Quality Score = CTR + Ad relevance + Landing Page experience

  • If Click is high – CTR is also high. CTR depends on Clicks
  • If the position of Ad rank is high – Clicks is also high. Clicks depend on Ad rank.
  • Quality Score depends on CTR. Once your CTR is high automatically CPC comes down.

Person
CPC
Impression
Clicks
CTR
QS
CPC
A
80
100
100
100%
8
50
B
60
100
0
0%
2
60

 Now the question is A’s CPC is 50 and B’s CPC is 60 then why A’s becomes top?
Answer is
Ad rank does not depend only on CPC. It depends on CPC and QS”

CPC
Ad rank
Clicks
CTR
QS
CPC

Case Study:

Case – 1: Quality Score is 6

Account: Digital Marketing.com
Campaign: Coimbatore
Ad group: Digital Marketing
Ads: Digital Marketing Training in Coimbatore, Digital Marketing Course in Coimbatore, SEO Training in Coimbatore, SEO Course Training in Coimbatore, SEM Training in Coimbatore, SEM Course Training in Coimbatore
  • Here All the keywords in one Ad. So only one Ad (Ex: SEM Training in Coimbatore) is shown in SERP. If someone wants SEO training he wants to type and click.


Case – 2: Quality Score is 10

Account: Digital Marketing.com
Campaign: Coimbatore
Ad group: Digital Marketing
Ads1: Digital Marketing Training in Coimbatore, Digital Marketing Course in Coimbatore
Ads 2: SEO Training in Coimbatore, SEO Course Training in Coimbatore
Ads 3: SEM Training in Coimbatore, SEM Course Training in Coimbatore
  • Here All the keywords in three Ads. So Three Ad is shown in SERP. If someone wants SEO training or others they click then automatically your CTR will high.

“Conclusion: Don’t mix all keywords in Ad. Better create separate Ad for Separate keywords”
  • So if you create Separate Ad groups and Separate Ads then Ad relevance improve and CTR improve so QS increase then CPC comes own and Ad rank improves.

Ad relevance: (scale 1-10)

  • Related Keywords Grouped
  • Use Phrase match rather than Broad match

Landing Page Experience: (scale 1-100)

  • Based on Website browsing Speed 

Example:
Case -1:
Person
CPC
Ad rank
A
20
2
B
25
1
C
15
4
D
18
3

Case -2:
Person
CPC
Ad rank
Quality score
A
20
2
5
B
25
1
4
C
15
4
7
D
18
3
8

Google provides the QS based on three factors
Case -3:
Person
CPC
Ad rank
Quality score
Ad rank Score
(CPC * QS)
Ad rank
A
20
2
5
100
3
(based on QS
B
25
1
4
100
4
C
15
4
7
104
2
D
18
3
8
144
1
  • So, person B is on top in case -1 and case -2 (our assumption). But person D comes on top (reality).
  • So Ad rank does not depend on one factor. It depends on Two factors are CPC and QS.

Suppose, if CPC is low

Person
CPC
Ad rank
Quality score
Ad rank Score
(CPC * QS)
Ad rank
A
20
2
5
100
3
(based on QS
B
25
1
4
100
4
C
15
4
7
104
2
D
10
3
8
80
1

  • Then automatically c becomes first. So both two factors high mean it comes top.

Question: How can we improve our ad in the first position?
  • We don’t know about CPC of others.
  • We know our QS in campaign and Ad rank in SERP.
  • EX: Ad rank – 3 & QS: 6 then automatically increase or decrease our CPC (Ad rank score = CPC * QS)

How Google calculate Actual CPC

  • Suppose if we are setting Max CPC = 40 then each time the customer clicks your Ad then How amount will deduct?

Competitor CPC + 0.01$

Example

Person
Max.CPC

Quality score
(1-10)

Ad rank score          (1-100)       
Actual CPC =
Comp Ad rank score/Your QS + 0.01$
A
2$
10
20
16/10 +0.01$ = 1.6$
B
4$
4
16
12/4 +0.01$ = 3.01$
C
6$
2
12
8/2 +0.01$ = 4.01$
D
8$
1
8
8$

  • A’s Max.CPC is 2$ but Actual Google deduct Actual CPC is 1.6$
  • B’s Max.CPC is 4$ but Actual Google deduct Actual CPC is 3.01$
  • C’s Max.CPC is 6$ but Actual Google deduct Actual CPC is 4.01$
  • D’s Max.CPC is 8$ but Actual Google deduct Actual CPC is 8$
  • So, D is a looser 

Important things:

  •         Ad ranks provide by Google and it depends on CPC & QS
  •         QS Provide by Google
  •         We can’t control and see those two parameters how Google calculate
  •         So better thing is design campaign proper and Group all keywords in separate Ads

How Google Calculate

Quality Score:
·        Provide by Google
·        It will be from 1 to 10
·        It’s based on three-parameter: CTR+ Ad relevance+ Landing page Experience
Ad rank:
·        Provide by Google
·        It will be from 1 to 100
·        It’s based on two-parameter: CPC * Quality score = Ad rank score
·        Who is having Good Ad rank scores that guy Ad rank is good.
Actual CPC
·        Provide by Google
·        It is calculated by the Competitor Ad rank score / Your Ad rank score +0.01$



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